Forum Message

Topic: Re:Re:Re:Re:Adam Beamish and the planning process
Posted by: Adam Beamish
Date/Time: 24/11/14 12:28:00

Thanks to John Connelly and Richard for their posts.

Just to be clear, as if it wasn't obvious already, I post on this forum as, yes, a local resident.  Yes I happen to be a professional town planner, but I'm also a local resident.  I have no professional mandate when I post on this forum, and I'm often at pains to distinguish between my personal view and my professional knowledge, which aren't always in harmony with each other. 

Furthermore, as I only recently stated on this forum, if I am professionally instructed on any scheme that is raised on this forum, I wouldn't post at all about it, because my client wouldn't be paying me to do so, and it would be impossible for readers to distinguish whether I was posting as a local resident or as an employed planning consultant. 

I did a search on my name to review some of my previous postings, and back in August this year on this very same development I wrote :

----------------
"As I said earlier, I must confess that it's actually quite 'nice' to read posts from the general public who have studied an application in some depth and are aware of what can and can't be taken into consideration and what weight is likely to be attached - because in the same way the public often see developers as evil baddies, equally developers often label residents as NIMBIES, and this thread illustrates neither is, on the whole, accurate (with the inevitable occasional exception of course !)."
--------------------

There's also been times I've posted on both this forum and Brentford TW8 being critical of professionals, both in planning and in other spheres, and on TW8 I have also that at least one development (the new Music Museum) which I must have sat in some Senior Management Meetings about whilst I was employed at LBH looks awful and I'm surprised I didn't criticise this at the time.