Forum Message

Topic: Re:Re:Re:In defence of Alpha (St Alban's Acton Green)
Posted by: Ian Wylie
Date/Time: 18/01/16 21:42:00

As a journalist and photographer I have been documenting the St Alban’s Church story in photographs since 2011 and - as a local resident and neighbour - ended up supporting the argument to save the church from internal development into flats. Other than that I am not connected in any way to either St Alban’s or Christ Church but have, along the way, met many of those involved in this “back to life” story.

Everyone is, of course, entitled to express a view but there is some serious nonsense being alleged in the original thread and, now, in this one.

St Alban’s Church was long closed. An almost unnoticed building on South Parade, unloved and gradually deteriorating as the years went by. The proposed development and prospect of losing this building to private housing suddenly woke up many in the local community and the fight to save it for that community was ultimately won.

The vast majority of those campaigning to save the building for the community did so in full recognition that it would be used in future as both a church - the clue is in the name and the identity of the owners  - and a community hub for all sorts of activities, including theatre, the arts, exhibitions etc.

The original poster in the other thread mentions the change in the Acton Green parish boundary. Leaving aside the point that I’d guess 99 per cent of the people who live in that area have no idea where the parish boundary is in the first place and care even less, it was the subject of a full consultation and inquiry with the small number of objections received and considered by that inquiry.